President - Prof Elsie Kiguli-Malwadde

Dr. Kiguli-Malwadde is the Director of Health Workforce and Development at the African Centre for Global Health and Social Transformation (ACHEST). She was the Director of the Medical Education Partnership Initiative (MEPI) African Coordinating Centre (CC) at ACHEST.  She is a Radiologist and formerly Associate Professor and Head of the Radiology Department at Makerere University in Kampala, Uganda. She is a  Fellow in Medical Education and Research, Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education and Research (FAIMER), Philadelphia USA and a Fellow in Ultrasound from the Thomas Jefferson University ,Philadelphia, USA.  She is the Vice Secretary General for The Network Towards Unity for Health (TUFH), a global organization with a vision to improve Global Health Professions Education. She is the Vice President of the African Forum for Research and Education in Health (AFREhealth), an interdisciplinary health professional group that seeks to work with Ministries of Health, training institutions and other stakeholders to improve the quality of health care in Africa through research, education and capacity building. She has over 25 years’ experience in medical curriculum development, evaluation and medical education research at pre-service and postgraduate levels.  She has over 70 publications in Health Professions Education and Radiology.

Vice-President - Prof Nelson Sewankambo

afrehealth nominee Kien Alfred Mteta

Nelson K. Sewankambo MBChB, MSc, M.MED, FRCP, LLD (HC) is a Professor Emeritus, a former Dean of Makerere University Medical School, Uganda and a past Principal Makerere University College of Health Sciences. He is a member of the AFREhealth Governing Council. He was Chair of the MEPI Council in 2013 which culminated into AFREhealth. During his academic career, he facilitated the establishment of many collaborations between Makerere University and institutions in both high and low or middle-income countries.

He has a wide experience as a Principal Investigator and investigator on several capacity building projects of health professionals that are externally funded including a MEPI consortium of Ugandan Universities that jointly addressed the country’s health workforce education needs; NURTURE: Research training and mentoring program for career development of junior and mid-level faculty at Makerere; Training Health Researchers into Vocational Education in East Africa (THRiVE) consortium of seven African institutions and two UK universities. He steered the development of an East African effort that led to an internationally acclaimed institutional brokerage mechanism for linking research to policy and action, “The REACH Policy Initiative” under the East African Community.

He is a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians in London; an Honorary Doctorate of Letters Johns Hopkins University, School of Public Health; a Grand Silver Medal from Karolinska Institutet, Sweden; a Doctor of Laws, Honoris Causa from McMaster University, and is Honorary Fellow of London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. He is an external affiliate of the US National Institute of Medicine, and a fellow of African Academy of Sciences.

Secretary - Judy Khanyola

Judy N. Khanyola is Chair of the University of Global Health Equity (UGHE) Center for Nursing and Midwifery based in Kigali, Rwanda.
Judy is a registered community health nurse/ midwife and recognized nursing leader in Africa with over 25 years’ experience in clinical nursing and education programs. She has a Bachelor of Science Degree in Nursing from the University of Eastern Africa, Baraton and a master’s degree in Advancing Health Care Practice from the University of Manchester in the UK.

Judy is currently the Africa Representative for Nursing Now, the global campaign to raise the status and profile of nurses and midwives worldwide
Judy is the 2019 recipient of the Association of Nurses in AIDS Care (ANAC) Global HIV Award.

Treasurer - Prof Prisca Olabisi Adejumo

Prisca Olabisi Adejumo, RN, BSc. (Nursing Education), MSc. (Medical Sociology and Medical Surgical Nursing), PhD (Medical Sociology) and PhD (Nursing), FWACN, IIWCC is Professor of Adult Health Nursing, former sub-Dean and immediate past Head of the Department of Nursing at the University of Ibadan. She also served briefly as Dean and Head of Department on sabbatical at the Chrisland University, College of Basic Medical Sciences, Department of Nursing. She is an MPI for the current AFREhealth (African Forum for Research and Education in Health) NIH grant.  Prisca has tremendous interest in interprofessional and indisciplinary practice, education and research. She was nominated and accepted into the Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education and Research Fellowship at The FAIMER Institute. Prof. Adejumo is a member of Consortium of Universities for Global Health competencies subcommittee, has recently served as WHO consultant on Covid-19 preparedness among nurses in 8 countries and she is a serving mentor for selected trainees on the AFREhealth Leadership Training Program.

Honorary Member - Prof Fatima Suleman

Fatima Suleman [B.Pharm (UDW,SA), M.Pharm (UDW, SA), PhD (Public Health Sciences)(UIC,USA)] is a Professor in the School of Health Sciences, University of KwaZulu-Natal and Professor, and Director: World Health Organization Collaborating Centre for Pharmaceutical Policy and Evidence Based Practice. She is a former Prince Claus Chair of Development and Equity: Affordable (Bio)Therapeutics for Public Health (until September 2018) at Utrecht University, and a Fulbright Alumnus (Fulbright Scholar 2002-2004). She has been appointed by the South African Minister of Health to serve on the National Pricing Committee (2010-current) and is currently the Chair of the Pricing Committee. She has been appointed to the World Health Organization's Expert Advisory Panel on Drug Evaluation (2017 - 2021). She is an EXCO member for the African Forum on Research and Education in Health (AFREhealth) PI Council (current).

Honorary Member - Prof Abdon Mukalay

University of Lubumbashi
DR. Congo


Past President - Prof Abigail Kazembe

Abigail Kazembe is an experienced midwifery educator. She is an Associate Professor in Midwifery at Kamuzu College of Nursing, Lilongwe, Malawi, where she has previously held the positions of Deputy Dean of Faculty of Midwifery, Neonatal and Reproductive Studies and Dean of Postgraduate Studies and Research, and Head of Midwifery Department. Abigail Kazembe is also President of AFREhealth, where she is committed to contribute towards quality of care through education of health professionals and research. She has collaborated with local and international partners on areas of her research interest including HIV, maternal and newborn care.

About us

The African Forum for Research and Education in Health (AFREhealth) is an interprofessional health grouping that seeks to work all stakeholders interested in health profession education , research and service delivery to improve the quality of health care in Africa through research, education and capacity building. It is a conglomerate of individuals, institutions, associations and networks from all the geographic and linguistic regions of Africa namely Anglophone, Francophone, Lusophone and Arabophone. Read More...

Contact Us

Mobile (Whatsapp): +233 50 835 1306 
Office: +233 32 249 6882

[email protected]

School of Public Health
College of Health Sciences
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, Ghana

Like & Follow Us