November Webinars

Title: Challenges and Solutions to the Climate Crisis in Africa
Date: Thursday 2nd November 2023
Time: 9:00 AM EDT, 1 PM GMT/ 2 PM WAST/3 PM CAT, SAST/4 PM EAT
Duration: 2 and half hours

Title: Advancing the field of Impact Science in Africa
Date: Friday, 3rd November 2023
Time: 9 AM EDT/1 PM GMT/3 PM SAST/4 PM EAT
Duration: 3 Hours

Title: Writing for Publication in Academia: Transforming Your Research into a Publication
Date: Wednesday 8th November 2023
Time: 1 PM GMT, 2 PM WAST, 3 PM CAT/SAST, 4 PM EAT
Duration: 1 Hour

Title: Practical Budget Development and Justification for Proposal Submission
Date: Wednesday 22nd November 2023
Time: 9 AM US ET/ /1 PM GMT/2 PM WAST/3 PM SAST, CAT/4 PM EAT
Duration: 2 Hours

For details and registration

Call for Volunteers

Dear AFREhealth member,
I hope this message finds you well. We are excited to announce a unique opportunity for individuals with expertise in various fields of endeavours to contribute to the evaluation of AFREhealth's impact and effectiveness in the African continent. As part of our commitment to continuous improvement and transparency, we are launching the "Leveraging AFREhealth For Impact: A 5-Year Analysis and Proposed Research Agenda. (L AFIA_5YAPRA)”.

Project Overview:

The "LAFIA_5YAPRA" project is a comprehensive evaluation initiative aimed at assessing AFREhealth's performance in achieving its stated goals and examining its impact on local communities across the African continent. Additionally, we seek to uncover any unintended consequences, both negative and positive, resulting from AFREhealth's activities since its inception. To undertake this project successfully, we require a diverse team of dedicated volunteers with expertise in the following areas:

  • Needs Assessment
  • Tool Development
  • Qualitative Data Collection
  • Quantitative Data Collection
  • Monitoring and Evaluation
  • Data Analysis
  • Report and Manuscript Writing

Volunteer Information:

Interested individuals are invited to express their interest in joining our project team. Whether you have volunteered on this with AFREhealth before or you are considering joining us for the first time, we welcome your participation. Please take note of the following details:

Call for Interest Period: Monday, September 25, 2023, to Monday, 16 October 2023.

Closing Time: 5 PM (GMT + 1) on Friday, 13 October 2023.

How to Express Your Interest:

If you are interested in contributing your expertise to this important initiative,please send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and copy This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with the subject line: "LAFIA_5YA PRORESA Volunteer Application - [Your Full Name]." In your email, briefly outline your qualifications, background, experience, and specify the area(s) of expertise you wish to contribute to the project.

Selection Process:

After the closing date for expressions of interest, our team will review all applications carefully. Shortlisted candidates will receive an invite for further discussions in the first week of November2023. We aim to assemble a dedicated and diverse team that can collectively address the multifaceted aspects of this evaluation.

We believe that this project will provide valuable insights into AFREhealth's journey and help us chart a meaningful path for the future. Your contributions as volunteers will be instrumental in this endeavour.

Should you have any questions or require additional information, please do not hesitate to reach out to the AFREhealth Secretariat.

Thank you for your continued support and dedication to AFREhealth's mission. We look forward to working with a passionate team of volunteers who share our commitment to improving healthcare in Africa.

Warm regards,

Prisca.

Pre-Conference Satellite; hosted by Intealth

6th Annual Symposium

Overview
ECFMG and FAIMER under their new joint brand Intealth aim to advance and enhance Health Workforce in Africa through advancing Health Professions Education, increasing transfer of knowledge and skills and conducting research through collaborative partnerships. The satellite aims to exhibit the Intealth Africa Strategy, work and priority areas.

Title: Intealth Africa strategy
Date: Wednesday 26 July 2023
Time: 08:00 ET, 11:00 WAST, 12:00 GMT, 13:00 CAT, SAST, 15:00 EAT,
Duration: 90 Minutes
Registration Link: https://afrehealth.org.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZ0ucO6ppj0sE9yfQOe4skD6Xbowk5UCM0kB

Notice of 2023 Annual General Meeting (AGM)

The African Forum for Research and Education in Health, Limited by Guarantee (AFREhealth) announces for the information of its members that the 2023 Annual General Meeting (AGM)  has been scheduled as follows:

Date: Wednesday 2nd  August 2023
Time: 6:30 AM GMT; 7:30 AM WAST; 8:30 AM SAST, CAT; 9:30 AM EAT

The AGM will be held as part of AFREhealth Annual Symposium activities in Maputo, Mozambique. A Zoom link will be shared in due course so that members who are unable to participate in-person can do so virtually.   

The meeting will provide updates on AFREhealth activities, discuss membership, and share future plans for the organization.
The meeting agenda will be shared with you in due course.

Thank you 

Judy Khanyola
AFREhealth Secretary 

CALL FOR ABSTRACTS: AFREhealth 6th ANNUAL SYMPOSIUM

1-3 August 2023; Maputo, Mozambique

Theme: Addressing service, research and educational needs in the context of epidemiological transition and climate change

Abstracts are invited under the following subthemes:

  1. Health professions education and future health workforce
  2. Building research capacity for addressing epidemiological transitions, pandemics, one health and climate change
  3. Addressing service delivery issues in the face of epidemiological transition  
  4. Strengthening Africa’s service capacity, including diagnostic services

The deadline for submission has been extended to 14 April 2023.

Click here to submit abstract Abstract Submission

About us

The African Forum for Research and Education in Health (AFREhealth) is an interprofessional health grouping that seeks to work all stakeholders interested in health profession education , research and service delivery to improve the quality of health care in Africa through research, education and capacity building. It is a conglomerate of individuals, institutions, associations and networks from all the geographic and linguistic regions of Africa namely Anglophone, Francophone, Lusophone and Arabophone. Read More...

Contact Us

Phone:
Mobile (Whatsapp): +233 50 835 1306 
Office: +233 32 249 6882

Email:
[email protected]

Location:
School of Public Health
College of Health Sciences
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, Ghana

Like & Follow Us